Java 6 update 11 and JavaFX 1.0

Java 6 update 11 (6u11) has been released. It fixes the bug I mentioned and reported earlier in which the old browser plugin (libjavaplugin) was installed in Linux instead of the new one (libnpjp2). So applets like these scenegraph demos will work by default, whenever the debian/ubuntu java packages are updated.

JavaFX 1.0 is due to be released tomorrow. Like I mentioned before, see also an alternative for the java platform called PulpCore.

Posted in java, opensource
One comment on “Java 6 update 11 and JavaFX 1.0
  1. Anonymous says:

    How do I install jre6u11, if I’ve *only* got openjdk on Ubuntu 8.10 installed. I don’t have the plugin, or the official sun plugin etc. just the icedtea JDK.I tried following instructions on u10, but it didn’t work, about:plugins didn’t show java, even though I sym linked it to my plugins folder;ln -s /opt/jre1.6.0_11/lib/i386/libnpjp2.so /home/mbana/.mozilla/plugins

Comments are closed.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,341 other followers

