Considering MOOCs: Pros, Cons, Questions

Here are slides for a talk I’m giving to my university about issues to consider before offering MOOCs or accepting MOOCs for credit.

I also participated in a webinar about MOOCs for corporate learning, hosted by Jeanne Meister of FutureWorkPlace. A few slides related to that are at the end of the above presentation.

My last advice to both groups is that, even if you decide to not go with MOOCs today, keep a close eye on them.  MOOCs are evolving extremely rapidly, both technologically and pedagogically.  See for example these MOOCs that are pedagogically more interesting than just videos and quizzes: Passion Driven Statistics, Learning Creative Learning, and the Open Learning Design Studio MOOC I mentioned in my previous post about pedagogical issues with MOOCs.  There are also millions of dollars being invested in MOOC development, with both new and old tools evolving to accommodate the unique demands of MOOCs.  Several MOOC platforms are emerging, both free (Instructure’s Canvas.net, Blackboard’s CourseSites, Google+ Communities and Hangouts and other Google Apps) and open source (Class2Go, OpenMOOC, CourseBuilderedX, P2PUWordPress).

So 6 months from now, a year from now, MOOCs may look quite different.

And my first advice to everyone is: try a MOOC out for yourself.  That’s the best way to better learn about them.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in edtech, education, moocs, opensource, teaching, technology, Uncategorized
3 comments on “Considering MOOCs: Pros, Cons, Questions
  1. […] Considering MOOCs: Pros, Cons, Questions (edtechdev.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Here are slides for a talk I'm giving to my university about issues to consider before offering MOOCs or accepting MOOCs for credit. Considering MOOCs: Pros, Cons, Questions from Doug Holton I also…  […]

  3. […] Here are slides for a talk I'm giving to my university about issues to consider before offering MOOCs or accepting MOOCs for credit. Considering MOOCs: Pros, Cons, Questions from Doug Holton I also…  […]

Comments are closed.

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 4,341 other followers

